Mapping the campus of Loughborough University – in poetry.

Water Features

I. 

I was not cold the first time I almost drowned
I was warm
I was warm
I was so warm
And the lake swallowed me in as an old friend
as I sank into her
“It’s been a long, long, long time”
“Yes”
“This is what it feels like to stop breathing”
“Yes”

II.

cartographies —
making stained glass out of paper
cutting faces and lilies into maps
three lines to show elevation
an open P-L-A-N-E for a P-L-A-I-N

a scene in fragmented miniature
the Madonna breastfeeding (one plane for the breast, two with a nipple)
a chubby conglomerate of small round segments
as she, flanked by bored lecturers
ascends to the roof of the tower
where there is not actually a helipad.
.

Leave a Reply

